

DECISION AB nº 18/2016

OF THE ADMINISTRATIVE BOARD OF THE AGENCY FOR THE COOPERATION OF ENERGY REGULATORS

of 18 October 2016

on the appointment of the members and alternates of the Board of Appeal of the Agency for the Cooperation of Energy Regulators

THE ADMINISTRATIVE BOARD OF THE AGENCY FOR THE COOPERATION OF ENERGY REGULATORS,

Having regard to Regulation (EC) No 713/2009 of the European Parliament and of the Council of 13 July 2009 establishing an Agency for the Cooperation of Energy Regulators¹ and, in particular, Article 18 thereof,

Whereas:

- (1) Pursuant to Article 18(1) of Regulation (EC) No 713/2009, the Board of Appeal shall comprise six members and six alternates selected from among current or former senior staff of the national regulatory authorities, competition authorities or other national or Community institutions with relevant experience in the energy sector.
- (2) Pursuant to Article 18(2) of Regulation (EC) No 713/2009, the members of the Board of Appeal shall be formally appointed by the Administrative Board, on a proposal from the Commission, following a public call for expression of interest, and after consultation of the Board of Regulators.

1 OJ L211, 14.8.2009, p.1



- (3) Pursuant to Article 18(3) of Regulation (EC) No 713/2009, the term of office of the members of the Board of Appeal shall be five years.
- (4) The European Commission published a call for expression of interest on 19 January 2016. After duly assessing the applications, the Commission submitted its proposal for members and alternates of the Board of Appeal, laid down in Commission Decision C(2016) 3102 on 30 May 2016, to the Board of Regulators for consultation as well as to the Administrative Board for appointment.
- (5) The Board of Regulators discussed the EC proposal and the shortlisted applications in its 58th Meeting held on 13 July 2016 and submitted its opinion on 21 July 2016 to the Administrative Board.
- (6) When appointing the Members and Alternates of the Board of Appeal, the Administrative Board took into consideration the level of experience in the energy sector, including previous work on regulatory issues, the geographical balance of the candidates and an appropriate mix of relevant academic and professional backgrounds (technical, economical, legal). The Administrative Board also aimed to ensure a degree of continuity in the Board of Appeal membership and thus renewed the mandates of some members of the Board of Appeal in line with Article 18(3) of Regulation (EC) No 713/2009,

HAS ADOPTED THIS DECISION:



Article 1

The Administrative Board appoints as Members of the Board of Appeal (in alphabetical order):

- a) Mr Walter Boltz,
- b) Mrs Yvonne Fredriksson,
- c) Mr Jean-Yves Ollier,
- d) Mr Andris Piebalgs,
- e) Mr Mariusz Swora,
- f) Mr Michael Thomadakis.

Article 2

The Administrative Board appoints as Alternates of the Board of Appeal:

- a) Mr Viorel Alicus,
- b) Mr Miltos Aslanoglou,
- c) Mr Mariano Bacigalupo Saggese,
- d) Mrs Nadia Horstmann,
- e) Mr Erik Rakhou,
- f) Mr Dominique Woitrin.

Article 3

The term of the office of the Members and the Alternates is five years from the entry into force of this Decision.

Article 4



The Administrative Board gives mandate to the Registrar of the Board of Appeal to inform the appointed Members and Alternates of their appointment and to convene the first meeting of the new Board of Appeal in order to designate its Chairman and Vice-Chairman.

Article 5

This decision shall enter into force on the day of its adoption.

Done at Ljubljana on 18 October 2016.

For the Administrative Board:

SIGNED

Dr. Romana Jordan

Chairman of the Administrative Board